Todd Fehniger Named to Lymphoma Research Foundation Advisory Board (Links to an external site)

Todd Fehniger, MD, PhD, Professor of Medicine in the Division of Oncology, has been appointed to the Lymphoma Research Foundation’s Scientific Advisory Board. This board comprises experts who guide the foundation’s research agenda and funding priorities. Dr. Fehniger’s extensive experience in lymphoma research will contribute to the foundation’s mission to advance understanding and treatment of […]

Drs. Cashen and Govindan Introduce the Siteman Ambulatory Cancer Center Building

Dr. Amanda Cashen, Associate Chief of Hematologic Malignancies and Ramaswamy Govindan, Associate Chief of Oncology, discuss some features of the new Siteman Ambulatory Cancer Center Building. Currently under construction and due to open in the fall of 2024, the new 9-story cancer center is over 657,000 square feet with 4 floors of clinic space to […]

The CheckPoints, Featuring Dr. Russell Pachynski, Performed at ASCO 2024

The CheckPoints, a cover band of immunotherapy all-stars, has become a mainstay at the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Annual Meeting. Comprised of luminaries in the field of cancer immunotherapy, The CheckPoints perform modern and classic rock hits. Led by Dr. Thomas Gajewski, the band features renowned scientists like Dr. Patrick Hwu, Nobel Prize […]

Research Symposium to Honor John DiPersio’s Contributions to the Study of Hematologic Malignancies

The John F. DiPersio Immunotherapy Symposium will take place on Wednesday March 27, 2024. The symposium honors John DiPersio’s contributions to the understanding of the pathogenesis of and development of new treatments for hematopoietic malignancies.   The symposium will feature presentations by three leaders in the field of cancer immunotherapy.  Dr. Stanley Riddell (Fred Hutchinson […]

Dr. David DeNardo Explores How the Tumor Microenvironment Affects Immune Responses to Cancer (Links to an external site)

David DeNardo, Ph.D., is a Professor of Medicine in the Division of Oncology and Co-Director of the Tumor Immunology Program. His work on responses to cancer immunotherapy was recently highlighted on the NCI website. His research team is working to understand why responses to cancer immunotherapy vary among patients. In studying and uncovering mechanisms of […]

Maria Baggstrom Awarded Fellow of the American Society of Clinical Oncology Distinction (Links to an external site)

Dr. Baggstrom is an ASCO Education Scholar, an associate editor on ASCO’s digital education editorial board, and has served as chair of the organization’s membership advisory committee and on the steering committee of ASCO’s DEI efforts for rising second-year URiM medical students.  The FASCO distinction recognizes members for their extraordinary volunteer service, engagement, dedication, and […]

Dr. Thomas Odeny Receives Winn Career Development Award (Links to an external site)

Thomas Odeny, Assistant Professor of Medicine leads the Global Oncology Program in the Division of Oncology. He is the one of the scholars to receive a Robert A. Winn Diversity in Clinical Trials Award. His clinical research grant focuses on expanding clinical trials and treatment options for cancer in underrepresented people living with HIV in […]

Dr. John DiPersio Selected to Give the Prestigious E. Donnall Thomas Lecture (Links to an external site)

John DiPersio, MD, PhD, Professor Medicine in the Division of Oncology will give the 2024 E Donnall Thomas lecture at the ASTCT/CIBMTR Tandem Meetings in San Antonio. The E. Donnall Thomas Lecture recognizes an eminent physician or scientist, either a clinician or an investigator, who has contributed meritoriously to the advancement of knowledge in blood […]